Outcomes of gasless laparoendoscopic single-port partial nephrectomy in 356 consecutive patients: Feasibility of a clampless and sutureless technique.

To investigate the outcomes and feasibilities of gasless laparoendoscopic single-port clampless sutureless partial nephrectomy.

We reviewed 356 consecutive patients with primary unilateral non-metastatic renal masses who underwent gasless laparoendoscopic single-port partial nephrectomy (2011-2018), which was performed retroperitoneally using a three-dimensional flexible endoscope, without vascular clamping or renorrhaphy in principle.

The median tumor size was 2.5 cm, and 213 (60%), 105 (29%), and 38 (11%) patients had peripheral, central, and hilar tumors, respectively. Clampless and sutureless partial nephrectomy was accomplished in 337 patients (95%), while eight (2%) and 16 (4%) patients required vascular clamping and renorrhaphy, respectively. The median operative time and blood loss were 220 min and 266 mL, respectively; eight patients (2%) received blood transfusion. Clavien-Dindo grade 3a complications occurred in 27 patients (8%); all these patients had urinary leakage treated with ureteral stent placement, one of whom also developed a postoperative pseudoaneurysm. Among 324 patients diagnosed with renal cell carcinoma, six (2%) had positive surgical margins, and one (0.3%) and seven (2%) developed metastatic and local recurrences, respectively. During a median follow-up of 54 months, no patient died from kidney cancer. The median percent decrease in estimated glomerular filtration rate at 3 months after surgery was 5.7%. No patient experienced postoperative acute renal failure, while one patient with preexisting renal impairment started dialysis at 70 months after surgery.

Clampless and sutureless partial nephrectomy can be safely accomplished in most patients undergoing gasless laparoendoscopic single-port surgery, yielding favorable oncological and functional outcomes.

International journal of urology : official journal of the Japanese Urological Association. 2020 Dec 09 [Epub ahead of print]

Yosuke Yasuda, Kazutaka Saito, Hajime Tanaka, Sho Uehara, Toshiki Kijima, Soichiro Yoshida, Minato Yokoyama, Yoh Matsuoka, Kazunori Kihara, Yasuhisa Fujii

Department of Urology, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Tokyo, Japan.